And venture not there on Yuletide…

So I am learning how gacha fairs work.  People get 9 million of the common items, and swap them around for other common items, or several of the commons for a rare.  This has wound up with me having more antlers than I could shake an… uhm, shake an antler at!

On the plus side, though, I happened to put one pair of them on while wearing a hat and was stabbed with a bit of inspiration.  Herne the Huntsman is one of those charming little folktales of the British Isles: he’s said to have antlers or horns, and to haunt the woods of Windsor Forest, in Berkeshire.  He’s mentioned passingly in Shakespeare’s The Merry Wives of Windsor, even:

Sometime a keeper here in Windsor Forest,
Doth all the winter-time, at still midnight,
Walk round about an oak, with great ragg’d horns;
And there he blasts the tree, and takes the cattle,
And makes milch-kine yield blood, and shakes a chain
In a most hideous and dreadful manner.
You have heard of such a spirit, and well you know
The superstitious idle-headed eld
Receiv’d, and did deliver to our age,
This tale of Herne the Hunter for a truth.

With the antlers on and a top hat, I imagined either a Victorian production of ‘Midsummer Night’s Dream’, or perhaps someone off to a fancy dress party.  Some poking and prodding later, I had assembled an outfit, like so:

oberon

My thanks to Penny Wiesel for suggesting the setting for this one.  Of course, I wasn’t satisfied with that, so I did further tweaks and pokes, prods and modifications.  And got a much better picture!

oberon2

Ill-met by moonlight, proud Titania.

Much more beautiful photo, to my eye!  I may even make it a desktop image on my computer, why not?

One more pic so you can see the details that make the outfit, the antlers, the ears, the pale skin, the red eyes…

oberon3

Oh and the ears.

Amazing what a jumping off point a single item you never considered owning can be, to my eye! The interesting thing to me in these is that I’ve had everything I’m wearing for a year or more, save for the hair and the horns.  So sometimes, what’s new in Second Life is what you find just by mixing and matching things you’ve had for ages in new ways.  Who ever thought of Oberon in an evening jacket with an opera cloak?  But it just… it works, doesn’t it?

Take a look at what’s in your inventory that you haven’t played with for a while, see what it inspires when you knock it together with something newer.  I bet you’ll find a brand new use for that ancient outfit you’ve been so ashamed of ever since prim attachments started to be a thing!

Stylecard:

Shape: I made this!
Top Hat (Pic #1 only): Hatter Is Mad “Barbed Nude Top Hat”
Skin: Nomine “Ultralight”Hair: Wasabi Pills “Orion – Royal”
Eyes: Fallen Gods “Blood Eyes” Free in their store
Ears (Pic #2 and 3): Hybrid v2 “Mythic Ears White”
Horns: +half-deer+ “Eternum Antlers (Constellation)”
Suit, shirt, gloves, tie: NiCo “Claude – Steward’s Costumes ver.2”
Topcoat / Duster: BHD ‘Charcoal Duster Coat: Large’ – Free: this is BHD’s gift for the boys on the Steam 8 Hunt
Half-Cape: AvId “AvId side cloak”
Location:
Pic 1 and 3: Mieville Doyle
Pic 2: Mieville Shelley

2 thoughts on “And venture not there on Yuletide…

  1. Pingback: I’m wearing a new dress, new hair Brand new ideas | What Fresh SL is This?

Leave a Reply

