So I went to a sim I hadn’t seen before

Ziki Questi, whose blog is over here, is someone who I follow because she has a habit of both A) doing insanely gorgeous panorama photography (which I’m a big fan of), and B) she calls my attention to sims I haven’t seen before, filled with lovely views.

I recently got it into my head that I wanted to start doing more landscapey photography – enough of modelling for a while, enough of gawping at gacha items.  Let’s go photograph NATURE.

In Second Life.

Yes, I can hear you laughing.

However, Ziki pointed me at a sim – well, eleven sims – laid out as parkland. Gorgeously packed with plants and animals, and wonderful views.  I think even the worst photographer could do great here with a little work – after all, hey, I did pretty good!

Snapshot_008

Wish I was back on the bayou rollin’ with some Cajun queen…

I took a few pictures at this same location, because I just liked the feel of it, somehow.  Dunno. But a few tweaks to your graphics settings, using your environment editor, and you can come up with a variety of effects!

marshes day

Wishin’ I were a freight train, oh, just a-chooglin’ on down to New Orleans

Same area (though a slightly different angle), but with a different day setting, different water settings, looks completely different!  I wound up having hours of fun playing around taking pictures of uhm this same damned marsh.

marshes winter

In fairness, though, it IS a damn fine marsh…

There ARE other things in the 11 sims that comprise Calas Galhadon and her sister sims, though!  There’s an underwater cavern network in one sim, farmland and brooks adjoining the marshes here (just off camera to the left), there’s also some GORGEOUS woodlands.

galhadon 1

This pic was the first one I took in Calas. Really gorgeous stuff.

Also made a discovery that amused me: you CAN screw up your settings on rendering a photo such that instead of getting what is above, you get what is below.  Same shot, same angle, just… very different-looking.

Snapshot_002

Just a bit like Mount St. Helens in Washington back in the 80s, huh?

There’re plenty of spaces to see and explore in Calas Galhadon and her sister sims: I’m sure you can find the ones that will call to you! Thanks to Ziki for calling my attention to something new (to me) in Second Life!

One thought on “So I went to a sim I hadn’t seen before

Leave a Reply

