There’s a Light, Over at the Frankenstein Place

Last night, after I did the Game of Livingrooms post, I was chatting on the Homestuff channel in Second Life, as I’d come up with something I needed for the house and was having trouble finding it.
If you don’t know what Homestuff is, it’s a roughly-annual hunt that is moderated by a team of select individuals (and also me), where the point is about exposing the hunters to new and innovative home design.  I’ll let the more erudite members of the gang speak for themselves here, on their website.

I’ve been a fan since Ivy Maverick started the group, which is how I came to volunteer to mod: the crowd are nice folks, too, everyone’s extremely helpful and friendly.  There is a minimal fee to join (L$50), so as to cut down on spammers, but you can more than make that up with the gifts available in the Lounge (ask on the channel!).  As the Homestuff crew is a phenomenally smart group about what’s new and interesting in Second Life home furnishings, I figured this group of folks would be a terrific place to bounce around the tricky question of where to find the light fixture I wanted.
See, the skybox I’m living in nowadays is very early-20th-century, very Deco, and I wanted a light fixture that’d look of the period. What the hell, if I’m going to play with my dollhouse, I want it to look Just Right, dammit.
Don’t comment on the huge Easter Island statue in the corner, all right? If you don’t think that’s right, I don’t know what to say to you.
So anyway… I threw the question out to the Homestuff gang, figuring hey, they’re home-design fans, they’re going to know where I might find what I’m looking for.  And I got a few great suggestions (including one I’m likely going to have to go back for), then I got an IM from someone. One of [CIRCA]’s designers, to be specific.
Now, [CIRCA] make gorgeous stuff. For those who’ve been following along and wondered where I was when I took my interior photography, it was one of their builds: the “[CIRCA] – “Studio Coast” Loft Build – Grunge Tan” (and really, if you want a nice big open space with lots of room for fun with shadows and light, BUY THE LOFT BUILD NOW!).  The funky branch with the photo frames on it was a hunt gift, also from CIRCA, so yeah, I’ve shown you a couple of their items here… so when Cherelle Capra IM’ed me to say she had something she thought might suit the need, I was all ears, naturally!

Image

May I have the pleasure of introducing you to the [CIRCA] – Venetian Chandelier – Radiant Gold.  This is part of an upcoming release (or may be part of it): I saw it finished also in a lovely aqua-tone palate, and while I didn’t see more than that, Cherelle gave me the impression she was planning on several different finishes.

It gives off a good bit of light:

Imageand is covered with gorgeous textures, as you’ve already seen.  Cherelle’s planning on doing several different color tones with them, and the price point she’s thinking about is somewhere in the $L300 range.  Not too pricey, considering what a beautiful piece of work it is!

I say ‘may be’ part of an upcoming release, as Cherelle thought she might not do it in this color for wider release.  This certainly should give you an idea of what IS coming in that release, though.  So keep your eyes open for the Venetian Chandelier from CIRCA…

Image…appearing here with other items from [CIRCA] Living: the six pieces of framed art on the left and the branch on the right are both hunt gifts from [CIRCA] Living.  If you are shopping for home decor, I can’t recommend them highly enough!! Click on their name to get an SLURL so you can visit!

Leave a Reply

