You Know Nothing, Nath Pevensey.

So after a dogged search early on in my SL career for a hair to replace the one that a DB glitch had eaten, I had started to consider that I knew a bit about hair in SL.  Especially, hair for us boys. 
No.  No, I was ignorant and dim. 
Why do I say that?
Image

So I was chatting with a friend (BlackLabelMenswear Resident) last night, and bouncing things around he made surprised noises that I had not heard of a particular shop, and threw me a LM.  This means that I finally went hair-shopping at Argrace last night.  Wow!

Quite a few things really awed me about the hair there.  First off, the textures.  Rich, deep dark black (I always wear black hair, it’s my thing, shut up), or lushly bright red/ginger tones (which I won’t show you, because I didn’t buy it in those colors, I just played with the demo).
Secondly, speaking of the demo… there are forty colors in there.  40.  I think we’ve all had the experience of visiting a hair shop and think ‘well… I doubt I’d ever wear this in neon green, but I can tell I like the shape anyway. Hope the hair texture’s any good!’, haven’t we? Argrace doesn’t want you doing that.  Argrace, apparently, want you to be able to try it on and go ‘yeah, that’s the right color value for my complexion, the right shape for my face’ all at once.  The blonde and ginger/redhead values are some of the best I’ve ever seen, as well.
There are several different hairs in their shop: I just bought the one named Peyton, in the ‘Blacks’ pack because I’m predictable like that.
Image

Again with the full-on.  What about the rest, then??

Image

Profile view. It bears note that the sort of spotty-looking locks in front of the ear are on my skin rather than on a hairbase Argrace gave me. It also bears note I didn’t resize this at all, or photoshop (if I had I’d’ve gotten rid of that nagging bit where the jacket’s poking through the scarf, wouldn’t I?).

Image

Third, here’s a serious tip on how to impress me with the clothing/hair/skin/whatnot you’ve made in SL.  You want to do that?  Then just make the back as detailed as the front.  I’ve seen hair where the back of it was as even and regular as a hedgehog’s spines, rather than having any variety to it – even though the front view was terrific.  I’ve seen lackluster texturing in back, too.  What, nobody ever sees the back of an avatar, so you can do these weird… pinched-in textures on the back of a jacket?  You can ‘get away’ with just copy-pasting the same lock across the back of the skull over, and over, and over?  Nobody ever looks at the back of their avatar’s skull while out and about in SL?
See, if you give me a back to the hair you’ve built that at least has a bit of variety or texture to it?  It makes me take a second look, it makes me appreciate the little fussy bits you’ve put in that I might otherwise overlook.  That might just be me, though.

Argrace does women’s hair as well as hair for men: I’d strongly recommend checking them out.  They also keep a blog on a website (scroll down, I linked it below)! 
Okay, one last look before we leave…

Image

You can visit Argrace at their website, or inworld at their store.

Stylecard:

Jacket & Shirt: Aitui ‘Layered Jacket – Black’
Skin: Logo ‘Eternity Tristan – pale – clean shaven bk’
Eyes: FATEwear ‘FATEeyes’
Hair: Argrace “Peyton A [resize] – Black”
Scarf: Mr.Poet ‘Wide Scarf’

Leave a Reply

