It’s just the same old story, a fight for love and glory, a case of do or die…

…the same gruesome drama occurs, as the internet goes by

So apparently, a bit of mudslinging is ensuing out there on the internet.  No, that’s nothing new at all.  Someone is always snippy about someone else’s comments on the internet; I just had someone blow up in my face because I pointed out some rather distinct differences between the American Revolution and the Confederacy deciding to part ways with the Union.
People are gonna get their knickers in a twist no matter what you say.  People are going to get them more in a twist when you say what they’re doing is shitty.  You can especially spot twisted knickers when one person says ‘that other person, they’re mean’ and the other person’s response is to be ridiculously mean.

Here’s something I saw some years back which may be of help to a few folks.  It’s a Livejournal post from a million years ago, called ‘Internet Drama and You’.  The author was someone I roleplayed with on Livejournal ages and ages ago, and whose sense of humor manages to pull the teeth of a lot of this kind of bullshit. 

Without further adieu, then, some thoughts on pretendy fun-time games.

This is not meant to belittle anyone.  You have a perfect right to be displeased that someone else was behaving badly.  You have every right to voice your anger about that behavior.  But sometimes, a body’s gotta remember a sense of scale.  You’re not pissed because someone is sodomizing your grandmother with a fork during Thanksgiving dinner: you’re pissed because someone’s being a jerk about your efforts to accomplish something in an online environment.  You’re not cheesed off because someone’s exploiting the third world to make cheap-ass nasty sneakers, you’re cheesed because someone’s made a little list of people to do harm over their opinions about something online.

I dunno.  I can’t say I’ve always been the sort who shrugs this kind of baloney off, but I can say I’ve tried to consistently be one for a while.  And I will say this: going for the atom bomb in response to people criticizing someone’s behavior just makes me think that their point is probably absolutely correct.

But why dwell on the shitty people.  Why dwell on being upset by people behaving upsettingly?

I dunno.  I really don’t.

 

If you stuck with me through all of that, you deserve a present.  Here ya go.

Image

6 thoughts on “It’s just the same old story, a fight for love and glory, a case of do or die…

  1. I liked your post..then I unliked it because I didn’t like what you said..then I liked it again because I liked it what you said…grind

  2. “You’re not pissed because someone is sodomizing your grandmother with a fork during Thanksgiving dinner:” Now why would I be pissed .. well nvm that. As always excellent post!

    • The thing that really gets me with online drama is the sheer… lack of a sense of scale. All you have to do for online drama to stop is to not look, to not feed the monster with attention… and all the injustice anyone can do to you is really limited to what YOU choose to allow to matter.

Leave a Reply

