You like me! You really like me!

I’ve been receiving some really enthusiastic input on the Homestuff blogging I’ve been doing (over here, for those of you who haven’t looked).  Apparently the designers enjoy not JUST the fact that I feature their own goods nicely, but that I feature other creators’ goods nicely. Thank you, one and all!

If you haven’t looked, you might enjoy it if you have enjoyed my home decoration babble on here (which I’m relocating over there, for the most part).

Strawberry Singh’s Monday Meme Challenge Question Bloggy Thingummy Stop Asking Me this week asks us:
Meme Instructions: Share a black & white portrait (headshot) of your Second Life avatar. You can post a raw shot or process the image as much as you like. Don’t forget to leave a link to your image in the comments and also share it in the Blog Memes flickr group.

Okay, I figured I’d try this one.  While I haven’t actually done B&W photography in SL, I thought this could be a little funny, because my view in Second Life looked rather like this as I read the above:
Image
But I figured I would give it a go. Why not, I haven’t actually ever done black and white photography in Second Life, and it’s a favorite of mine in RL.  So, here goes…

Here it is in color:

Image

I figured some light and shadowplay would be a good idea for this and well…

Image

Maybe a bit busy of a backdrop, but… I dunno, I feel like it adds to the photo.

So that’s Berry’s Monday Meme Challenge Thingummy!  If you’re curious what I’ve been up to with the Homestuff blog, I recommend it highly, again, you can see that by clicking here.

STYLECARD (since people do ask for these):

Hair & Hairbase: Argrace ‘Peyton’ Black
Hands: SlInk ‘Relaxed’ Skin: LOGO ‘Eternal Tristan pale- Bald – Shaved’
Jacket and shirt: Lapointe & Bastchild ‘Grimm Royale (LIMITED)’
Eyes: FATEwear ‘FATEeyes’

5 thoughts on “You like me! You really like me!

      • Talking with a friend about this (who’s more of a graphic designer than I), I think we came up with a reason. One gets high-saturation and high-contrast colors a lot in second life goods – look at the lamps behind and to the right of my avatar, for instance, on the color image. Bright vibrant colors!! But taking things into a gray-scale turns those from ‘my goodness that’s a bright and monochrome chunk of color, and it seems just a tad cartoonish because of that’ into ‘that’s a gray-scale that I’d expect to find in nature’.

Leave a Reply

