“All right, I admit it. This is pretty cool. It’s… amazing.”

-Astrid, How to Train Your Dragon

So hi there everybody!  I know I haven’t posted in a dog’s age, and my apologies for that. I’ve been kinda busy with RL.  I hope you’ve been having fun in SL, and please feel free to let me know all about it if you found something new and interesting!  Someone else did, and that’s why this post is happening. 😉

Image

This is the Draco Jacket from VRSION, which is apparently new and available for a mere L$350.  As I’ve spent a few months lusting after a hoodie that looks a lot like this on Etsy, but which costs like $175, when Nigel Riel blogged about finding it available in SL, I had to go try out the demo… and then buy it.

So this is the first bit of fitted mesh I’ve tried on.  I have to admit, I’m pretty impressed.  What really impresses me (and I THINK you can make it out what with the arms-up pose I used in the photo) is the lack of what I’d been calling ‘Raggedy-Ann joints’.  Places where the rigged mesh that makes up the outfit kind of… pooches in around the underarm or the inside of the elbow when the joint is flexed.  Kind of like how the joints in a raggedy ann doll are just stiched lines across the arm, so the elbow does bend but when it bends it looks… unnatural?
Don’t get me wrong, rigged mesh is WAY WAY better than sculpties or system-layer clothes, but fitted mesh doesn’t do the, well, raggedy-ann joints.

Image

The textures are rich as can be (and as you can see, materials-enabled!).  And the little details make it plain who the inspiration is for this charming hoodie.

I had a very amusing moment while trying it on, which I summed up elsewhere thusly:
‘oh huh, there’s one item in the folder, I should rezz it… wait, how do I unpack… it’s… there’s nothing in it? What, do I just wear it and pray?’ wear ‘huh. But is it gapping anywhere?’ minute inspection ‘IS IT GAPPING ANYWHERE??? I DON’T UNDERSTAND WHY IS THIS WHY’ — I’m just too used to the multi-size thing that we got with rigged mesh.  I think I’ll eventually accept fitted not requiring that.

It flexes ‘right’, it bends ‘right’, you can wear the hood AND hair on your head!  I like it.
If you like this hoodie, you can get one too- there’s a male and a female version of it, either one for just L$350! Just visit VRSION by clicking over here where you are reading right now and which is linked to an SLURL.

Here’s hoping fitted mesh remains a joy to behold, and that is what’s fresh in SL today!
Oh, and the poses I chose here are from STAKEY, the ‘Paparazzi’ set: I wanted things where the arms were up and flexed so I could show off how the joints are NOT Raggedy-Ann joints. 😉

Leave a Reply

